Matthias Pliessnig

Graduate Visiting Artist Lecture Series 2014

The MFA in Applied Craft and Design welcomes Matthias Pliessnig as part of the 2013-2014 Graduate Visiting Artist Lecture Series.

Matthias Pliessnig’s fluid, skeletal furniture forms are made using traditional steam-bending techniques with oak. His interest specifically with bending wood first developed in 2006 after making a boat. As a sculptor and woodworker his training developed during his studies at Kansas City Art Institute, earning a BFA in sculpture, at Rhode Island School of Design earning a BFA in furniture design and at the University of Wisconsin Madison, completing his MFA in wood and art in 2009. Human interaction imposed by furniture intrigues Pliessnig in his one-of-a-kind designs for benches. This interaction provides an additional consideration in the design process, one that is drastically different from considerations in creating a sculpture.

Pliessnig has received national attention for his work and is considered one of the top artists/designers working with wood today. In 2008, he received a grant for his MFA project from the Joan Mitchell Foundation; in the same year he was given the Best of the Year Award for lounge seating by Interior Design Magazine. In 2009, his work was purchased by the Museum of Art and Design’s permanent collection and he received a grant from the Louis Comfort Tiffany Foundation. In 2010, he was awarded one of the most prestigious artist awards given today from United States Artists for $50,000. Most recently, the Smithsonian and Renwick Gallery chose eight pieces of his work to be included in the prestigious Renwick Craft Invitational. Pliessnig was one of four artists selected who represent the forefront of contemporary craft and design.

MFA ACD Lecture: Steve Badanes

Paul Wong

MFA ACD Lecture: Doug Browe

Sonya Clark

MFA ACD Lecture: Elmar Heimbach

MFA ACD Lecture: Donald Fortescue

MFA ACD Lecture: Jonathan Barnbrook


Alex Isley

Allyson Mitchell


Aly Khalifa


Andrea Bowers

Andy Brayman

Arthur Hash

CraftPerspectives Lecture: Chris Taylor

DEB WILLIS : MFA AC+D LECTURE (Co-Sponsor Newspace Center for Photography)

Del Harrow

MFA ACD Lecture: Emily Pilloton

Gary Nabhan

Gerhardt Knodel

Hazel Clark

Joyce Scott

Lew Oliver

Liz Lambert

Luis Camnitzer

CraftPerspectives Lecture: Maria Elena Buszek

Derrick Jensen

Mary Smull

Matthias Pliessnig

Michael Palmieri and Donal Mosher

Natalia Allen

Natalie Chanin

CraftPerspectives Lecture: Nikki McClure

Paul Mathieu

Po Shun Leong

Robin Petravic and Catherine Bailey: Heath Ceramics

Saki Mafunikwa

Shashi Caan

Steve Badanes

Susan S. Szenasy


William Deresiewicz

Zahid Sardar

Kara Hall MFA Applied Craft + Design Thesis 2021

Ben Lignel

Christine Lee